Skip to main content


Scottish Government Debate: Supporting Scotland’s Islands on Their Journey to Become Carbon Neutral

Tuesday 17 May 2022 2:32 PM


That the Parliament welcomes the Scottish Government’s announcement of the six islands that will be supported towards becoming fully carbon neutral by 2040; notes that the six islands are Hoy, Islay, Great Cumbrae, Raasay, Barra and Yell; recognises that these six islands will embrace the opportunity for island communities to lead the way in realising Scotland’s climate change ambitions; notes that the project will benefit all Scottish islands, and not only those supported directly as part of the project, through knowledge exchange and good practices; welcomes this initiative, which puts Scotland’s islands at the forefront of climate change policy while celebrating their unique culture and heritage, and acknowledges that the six carbon neutral islands will become international trailblazers and champions of carbon neutrality across the world.

To share or download a clip: Set the start of the clip by seeking the video, then click Set start point. Repeat for the End point.



A link to your download will be sent to the email address provided. Download links will be active for 24 hours.


Latest meetings: Debates